Skip to content

Mashup sweater

January 3, 2011

Why is it that my projects have these extended back stories? I started this sweater somewhere in the spring of 2008 with leftover yarn from a felted bag I’d designed for my mom. My intention was to use the chart from Venezia and the basic pattern of the Road to Golden Sweater. The weird thing is that a fellow blogger (who is exactly my age minus just a few days) had the exact same idea, except hers is kind of way cooler–check it out! The other irony of this mashup mixup is that apparently this sweater killed both of our respective mojo, since mine sat unfinished, armhole-high forĀ  years, and Stella hasn’t blogged since her FO report in 2008.

I know why I stopped. I realized that I didn’t have enough yarn for sleeves. I can’t believe it took me two years to figure out that I should just forget about making sleeves, then! In the interest of getting on with things, I picked it up again this fall and finished the durned thing in no time flat (naturally).

And here’s where I need help: First, a woolen short-sleeved sweater is surprisingly warmer than I expected. So what do I wear it with? Jeans? Ok.

Second, I can’t help but think that the inside, with all of the strands stranding into a reverse pattern, is much cooler. What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 5:11 pm

    Oh wow! This is stunning!!! I love your changing it to a short sleeved shirt (although I am sure it is very hot.) The colors work perfectly too. Just lovely. And yes, the reverse is super cool. :)

  2. January 10, 2011 2:45 pm

    *Jaw dropped* This is so insanely lovely! Such a beautiful job, Sula!

  3. January 13, 2011 6:11 pm

    well, sure, with colorwork as tidy as yours, of course the inside looks fantastic (we won’t talk about what mine would look like). this turned out so well, really impressed. i think it goes great with jeans, and would work quite well with a long sleeved t-shirt underneath for colder weather.

    • sulafaye permalink*
      January 26, 2011 10:29 pm

      You flatter me! Must be the magic of blocking.

  4. Laura Brodbeck permalink
    February 26, 2011 10:07 am

    So beautiful! I have a number of friends that have made allover stranded colorwork sweaters and I wish I could commit to finishing something like that. I have a hard enough time finishing plain ole seamless topdown raglans in one boring solid color. Heh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers