Skip to content

Somewhat Matching Minty hats

February 16, 2011

Desperately in need of something warm to cover my ears this winter, I resolved to use some leftover handspun (I know!). Happened across this pattern (Knitty link), which suited my purposes perfectly. Knitted up easily, turned out fine, keeps my ears warm. That should be the end of the story, but…

of course, it also turned out to be much cuter on Gracie, so I decided to raid the leftover stash and see if I couldn’t come up with one for her.

The pure bliss of knitting one’s handspun aside, hers was much more fun to knit. First of all, I ignored the pattern because guess what! Knitting has holes, and thus the effort of making eyelets is preeeeetty much wasted if you are planning to use ribbon instead of icord. Can you tell the difference?

Second, since I was using teeny bits of yarn I just added them randomly and knit in a spiral to avoid a jog. I was hoping the decreasing at the top would make this spiral more evident, but it’s a little less than whelming. I think the overall effect is good, though, especially since random is hard for me. There’s something about this hat that makes it look less homemade than my usual efforts, and I think it is the random striping.

And here she is! Obviously she in hers is much cuter than I in mine. This is how it should be.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. preita permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:40 pm

    Totally adorable hats! I really love these!

    • sulafaye permalink*
      February 24, 2011 11:09 am

      Thanks! I do too. ;) A good bit of whimsy for our heads.

  2. February 17, 2011 11:41 am

    Ah! So cute!!! Her’s is darling with those stripes. But I have to say, that yours is pretty cute too!

    • sulafaye permalink*
      February 24, 2011 11:02 am

      Thank you! I am digging the “matching but not really” thing we’ve got going on when we go out these days.

      Sula

  3. February 24, 2011 8:11 am

    So. Cute. I love the green bow! Random is hard for me, too. Even when I try to do random stripes I use a random stripe generator to keep me from slipping into a pattern. OCD much?

    • sulafaye permalink*
      February 24, 2011 11:01 am

      Thanks!! I used the “stick my hand into the bag” method. Which turned out not to be that random, but I’ll admit makes me feel a little less on the OCD side of things than usual.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers