Skip to content

Jalie jeans have become my wardrobe’s lifeblood

April 4, 2011

I think by now we can admit I have a deep-seated love for the Jalie jeans pattern. Ha ha.

This pair has been cut out for almost a year, and it took a real-life sew-a-long with a real-life friend to get me moving on them. It was great fun to begin this venture with her, although we had to part with our pants still in parts. She assures me hers were a great success, and that she’s already contemplating her next pair. These jeans are dangerous, I tell you!

I don’t have much to say about this pair. It’s a really thin denim but so far has held up quite well to repeated washing and wearing. I used topstitching thread on this pair and it made a big difference. I also like my back pocket design. I did double lines all around, but let them cross at the bottom point. I’m a big fan of simple with a twist.

My only disappointment is that the fly doesn’t lay as flat as it should. I’ve made these pants four times now, and the first two fly insertions were perfect while the last two have been less than. Am I overconfident? Over-thinking it? Over-particular? I think the next time I make these pants (you knew there was going to be a next time!), I’ll try a different method, just to see.

making faces at Gracie. I thought a rare photo that actually looks like me deserved a showing on the ol’ blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 1:04 am

    I am in serious awe of these jeans. You are a jean sewer. That is crazy! And they are way better than a store bought pair as far as the shape. The just might be, dare I say, perfect.

    BTW…you are so cute! I think that pose was the perfect opportunity for a rare face shot. Love it!

  2. April 5, 2011 10:39 am

    They look absolutely fantastic! You take sewing to an all new level — I can’t believe you actually make jeans. So impressed.

  3. April 6, 2011 6:21 pm

    I can’t believe that you sew jeans AND that you sew jeans that look awesome. Plus, love that last picture of you. You look adorable!

  4. Carolyn permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:24 am

    None of my current jeans fit well. Especially post-baby. I don’t really know what I’m doing with a sewing machine yet, but maybe the idea of sewing my own jeans will finally be the inspiration I need…Been thinking about you a lot lately. I need to call so we can catch up. Let me know if you’re going to be in Ohio, too. Baby would love to meet you and yours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers