Skip to content

…and in corner number 2…

March 12, 2007


There is Forecast. Then there is Vogue no. 19.

I am in the process of spinning this:

from this:

…which I think could be rilly rilly good for this cardigan. As I have not yet swatched, that is all in my head kind of good.

(By the way, you don’t know this about me yet, but I do like the swatch. The problem is, I don’t swatch “properly.” I did swatch properly––4×4 square, wash and block–– once, and it was fun. Most of the time I do an “on the needles” count, and then rip it out to preserve yarn. I do dream of having a full swatch of everything I knit, though. Wouldn’t that be the most amazing collection of handknits, a picture AND a swatch? Dreaming, again.)

That one skein (the yardage of which I neglected to write down, certain that I would remember it. Can’t I even remember that I tend to forget things like numbers and everything else??) is spun from another Great Lakes purchase. My mom saw it and loved all of the colors (because she = me) and bought me, what, 2 lbs or so. See? Fiber festivals can get to nonknitters too! I am quite spoiled by my love and my mom, and my in-laws too. It is funny though, on that subject, people have still not figured out that yes, all I really want on those obligatory gift-giving occassions (besides music and books about music, of course) is WOOL. Is this a world-wide problem, or just my inability to communicate what is really important in life?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ohio State MD 2009 permalink
    March 14, 2007 3:30 am

    “Fiber festivals can get to nonknitters, too.” It got to me, all right!

Trackbacks

  1. This one’s for my brother… « Sulala

Leave a Reply

