Skip to content

Silk garden chevron scarf

April 10, 2007


Yarn: 2 skeins Noro silk garden; color no. 84 and something else (helpful, ain’t I?)
Needles: size 10 1/2 (I knit reeeeeally loose)
Model: the tree, of course!

“Pattern”: CO 32 sts
Row 1 (RS): K.
Row 2: P.
Row 3: K1, k2tog 5 times, (k1, yo) 10 times, k2tog 5 times, k1.
Row 4: K.
repeat!

Story: 1 lone ball of silk garden has been haunting me since August, when it failed to fulfill its potential of becoming a purse to carry with my most elegant and loved dress. $11 balls (skeins? What do you call that Noro roll of yarn, blossoms?) of yarn are not seen often in these parts, and I wanted to make the best of it. I also did not want to buy more $11 skeins to make this best. Then, thanks to the joys of knitting blogs, two forces collided: the silk garden mini clapotis and the chevron scarf from LMNG. When my LYS didn’t have the original colorway, I opted for this darker one (good call, I think) and ripped out my “swatch,” knitted from both ends of the original ball. That was very annoying. The knit was fast and fun, the yarn softened after a soak, the whole thing stretched to a respectable scarf length, and I am very very pleased.

my favorite things:

the concave end

the way these greens and reds met

leaves on the tree!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

