Skip to content

Ah love mah Salina, but ah luuuuuuurv mah Forecast

May 7, 2007

 

modified forecast

(also luuv me some gray. Can gray be my favorite color, and is it presumptuous to admit that I really want “grey” to be my favorite color?)

modified forecast

“why so serious? you like it!”

This sweater was a blast to make. It all started when I saw this forecast in progress and loved the longer ribbing on the sleeves (and I happen to be fond of Carrioke’s finished product, as well!). First of all, it is a fun pattern and easily knit while reading. The best thing, however, was that I was making decisions the entire time and making it do exactly what I didn’t know I wanted it to do. Every step of the way I was choosing length or braid or something, and each decision influenced the next one to make it a sweater that I think I will feel good about wearing.

specs:

pattern: Stephanie Japel‘s “Forecast

yarn: Lionbrand “Wool-Ease” (I know, but this whole sweater cost less than $10! And the color was perfect. The only downside is that I can’t block the ribs to be a little less ribby.)

modifications: Let’s see… I started the collar on size 3 needles and the smallest size (loose knitter!). I switched to a size 5 for the body, but just kept working the increases until it was long enough to meet for sleeves (which was between the numbers for a medium and large !?). I obviously skipped the bobbles and just did some kind of braiding. I’m sure there is a better version in a pattern book somewhere, but this is what I came up with while on spring break and away from all of my resources. Instead of the slipped stitch at each edge, I did 2 sts. in garter, thinking I’d add a zipper because I didn’t really go for the button band, even though it really worked on some versions. By the time I got below the bustline, however, I was really digging the neckline as it was. I joined and worked the rib in the round on size 4 needles to an obviously longer sweater. The sleeves are a similar story: I simply worked the rib from the elbow on size 3 needles and decreased a few stitches along the way.

ETA: Finally, a pic that doesn’t require retouching (i.e., cropping off my head)!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2007 3:16 am

    Ooooh! That is so pretty! When I saw Forecast in Knitty, I was not tempted to knit it at all. But as I see the FOs (sans bobbles, especially), I am rethinking my initial lack of enthusiasm.

    Thanks too for the super-nice comment you left on my blog. 🙂

  2. May 10, 2007 11:38 am

    Great fit! It looks fantastic on you! I love this version.

  3. May 15, 2007 2:47 pm

    I love this modification. The v-neck versus cardi…genius! So darling. It looks like a perfect fit.

  4. June 19, 2007 7:34 am

    Ok…I have to admit that I have never really liked the forecast sweater. Bobbles make me feel like I have broken out into chickenpocks. So when I saw you modifications, i got heart palpitations. I want it!! I love what you did. It is so much better then I ever thought this sweater could be. You did a wonderful job. I will have to remember you modifications because that is GORGEOUS.

  5. August 29, 2007 1:07 pm

    I love your modifications — it’s such a different sweater, and beautiful!

  6. August 5, 2008 1:05 pm

    Wow! I want one like this as well. I’m also in the “no bobbles” camp – you made great mods!

Leave a Reply

