Skip to content

WIP Wednesday

August 8, 2007

I find myself currently embroiled in several projects, none of which have the potential to be completed any time in the near future. Unusual, but it is a great place to be.

 

Lorna's in aslan

You know, as much as I love hue, sometimes there is no color better than no color.

(DH socks in Lorna’s “Aslan.” Lorna tends to do strange things when I knit socks, so I was really happy that this sock is turning out to be randomly organized, and not too prone to pool or flash, which could have been a bit of a disaster in this non-colorway. Love it.)

 

 

 

Above: “The Bag”

Below: “The Bag”

Out of the whole “No Sheep” book, this pattern was the one to catch my eye. Hmm, or maybe it was that Hempathy was on sale at the yarn store and the colors are wonderful. There’s no telling, but the end result is that I bought enough Hempathy to make The Bag for me, and one each for my two SILs for Christmas. The top one is for me, the bottom one is for the just-married-into-the-family SIL, and the one for DH’s sister is reds and pinks (not yet started, I’m out of needles).

I’m also going to include some little lovely from Small Bird (the link is to her etsy shop) for each of them. Sorry to pull out Christmas already, but I love it and my favorite part is thinking about what the people I love will love. Last year I made my mom, dad, and brother each a cardigan, but this year I’m going to try to find beautiful handmade things for everyone–not necessarily handmade by me! I’m thinking something like this for my trendy BIL, and this for the FIL.

Any suggestions, from etsy or beyond??

 

 

 

Notting Hill Vest

Notting Hill Vest

And finally, it’s all about faith, my friends. I was shocked when DH pointed this pattern out in the fall Knitscene magazine as one he would like to have (?!?) and wear (???!!??). Why the surprise? This is a man who

a) never wears vests

b) thus, never wears sweater vests

c) heck, let’s be honest here: he never wears sweaters!

 

But after I purchased the magazine (only to make another note to self that it is a free pattern on the web–doh!) and the yarn, I’m realllllly glad to reinforce my opinion that he’s got good taste. I forgot how fun it is to make cables, and to knit with big needles (size 6, people! might as well be knitting on telephone poles!).

I also doubted Kathy Zimmerman, the designer, when I saw that the cabled sections are not all equal in size, but have since concluded that the little bit of unbalance is perfect. This woman knows her cables, and I am a believer.

The rest of the faith is because I hadn’t ever seriously considered the K’picks Shamrock that is recommended. In the skein it looks a little kitschy to me, but it makes a beautiful fabric. With the exception of the essentials sock yarn, I shall never again doubt my beloved Knitpicks.

I guess I gotta have a-faith-ah-faith-ah-faith-aaaaah!

(cheesy music quote of the day courtesy of George Michael. And Limp Bizkit, if that’s your thing.)

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2007 5:07 am

    So much texture in the cabled pictures! I love texture. And I’m digging the flecky yarn that you’re using to knit it, too.

  2. August 8, 2007 10:02 am

    That hempathy yarn IS gorgeous. I think the vest is going to be super cool too–how fun that yuor hubby wants you to make it for him!

  3. August 8, 2007 7:16 pm

    Wow! You have a ton of great stuff going on!

    Your cables are amazing! I think it’s going to be perfect for your hubby! Lucky, lucky hubby!

  4. August 8, 2007 8:09 pm

    I love those fat, bulky cables – you may be thinking of Christmas but I am definitely thinking of fall, and that sweater vest is going to capture it perfectly – good luck.

  5. August 9, 2007 5:46 am

    Nice sweater for the husband! I had the same thought about the Shamrock in the skein, but seeing your vest-in-progress, it’s lovely. 🙂

  6. August 10, 2007 1:43 pm

    I am loving that cabling!!

Leave a Reply

