Skip to content

Wazzup Wednesday

August 29, 2007

…or, “I just got back from a great vacation and have nary a picture to show for it!”

DH and I took a trip to West Virginia to go horseback riding and rafting down the New River. We’re only about 4 hours away, and if you are anywhere close I highly recommend it! We went with the Rivermen outfit and had a simply fabulous time rafting the Lower New River. We are definitely going back to do the more intense Gauley sometime! It was an amazing time, but I have to say that (WARNING: SAP ALERT) the best part was being with the DH.

In other news, I finished the DH Notting Hill vest and I’m pretty happy with it. I’ll do a full write-up once I get my promised photo shoot…

If you come here for the spinning (heh) take a gander at these lovelies:

DSC05351.JPG

4 oz. bundles of merino & colonial blend from the CJ Kopec etsy store. You would not believe the self control I have displayed by not diving right in to these beauties. But alas, I have some knitting to do before I will let myself spin again. And I’ve also been hoarding the most amazing Cider Moon roving too. One of these days I’m going to go nuts and spin it all, and oh what a happy day that will be!

 

Abby's yarns- superwash lemon zest

Here is this week’s (I guess last week by now, sheesh) handspun: superwash in Lemon Zest from Abby again. Sock yarn, of course! I’m a bit puzzled with this one. I don’t feel like I did such a great job spinning it, but the final result is still rather pleasing. Granted, there are still Those Spots that make it my handspun, but overall I think it will work up ok.

 

As far as knitting is concerned, I’ve started a new sweater. Thanks to the drive time I’m a good way into Road to Golden from the last Knitscene, but again no pictures to show! What a slacker!

I did notice something rather interesting, though, that I’d like to hear from you all about. I noticed that Annie Modesitt’s Twisted Float Shrug was in the Vogue anniversary issue. I fell for that pattern when it first graced the cover a few falls ago (2005) and fell hard. It was the first sweater I ever made for myself.

 

I had this idea about a progression of color for the back. Being a non-spinner, I figured the only way to get it was to dye. Being a cheapskate of the first degree (aka, a grad student) I used Kool-Aid. This part actually turned out kind of cool.

kool aid dying

fall 2005 adventures in Kool Aid

 

What didn’t work was the shape of the garment. No matter which way I wore it, it looked huge and felt silly. Some have made it work for them, but it didn’t work for me. I still think it is a great pattern, and that the twisted floats are beautiful, so…

twisted float shrug in progress

(in progress, with only an inkling that something was amiss)

Finally one day after I’d tried to wear it several times I got brave–or angry, same effect–and sliced it. I cut away a piece at a right angle above each armhole, then crocheted the thing back together. Then I felted it. I know, I must have been really mad brave!

The end result is that now to my eye it looks like a fitted garment rather than a knitting experiment. I enjoy wearing it, and don’t feel like I need to fuss or readjust every minute. I need to find some kind of cool closure for it, as classy as the safety pin currently in use may be. I also eliminated the fuzzy edges. I’m warm & fuzzy enough on the inside (DH and Juli, two people who have watched movies with me and seen my cold heart firsthand, are laughing to themselves right now).

What do you think? Still a knitting freak show, or wearable? The pictures are all crazy, sorry about that!

 

modified twisted float shrug

twisted float shrug back

modified twisted float shrug

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2007 8:33 pm

    I think it looks really cool! Way to save the garment. Nicely done.

  2. julieanne permalink
    August 29, 2007 9:13 pm

    You caught me. I was definitely chuckling to myself and wondering where this “warm fuzzy” came from. =) I do have a picture from your wedding of you and your DH doing a “loving gaze” or whatever we called it. Oh, those were the days!

  3. August 29, 2007 9:50 pm

    I think it’s really unique – a very cool garment that looks very wearable. Also loving all the roving and handspun – man I need to get my butt in gear and learn how to spin!

  4. shellssells permalink
    August 30, 2007 7:04 am

    Super super cool, wear it with confidence!

  5. August 30, 2007 8:53 am

    I think you totally rock it! I think the felting looks way cool.

  6. August 30, 2007 10:47 am

    Looks great! Way to rescue it!
    I had my first experience with KoolAid dying this summer. It was lots of fun 🙂

  7. Tamara permalink
    August 31, 2007 1:16 pm

    I think you totally saved it, and I think a loop and toggle would be a nice closure.

  8. September 1, 2007 7:44 am

    Holy crap, that is so cool! I am impressed with your ingenuity and your fearlessness in being able to do that! You were handsomely rewarded for both!

  9. September 7, 2007 11:08 am

    First off, I am very terribly coveting those rovings! What amazing colours!

    As for your sweater, I think it looks great! The fit issues seem to have been dealt with quite soundly through felting; it looks just perfect on you. As for the colours/pattern, I think that’s what makes the sweater what it is! But the overall striping is very good, and I like it lots.

    In fact, I really like this sweater, and hope to make it myself someday. I do already own one… made for my by my very best friend… who must have been temporarily insane because she knit it with the most bizarre, 70’s-ish colours of acrylic yarns (no felting for me), in a very large size! I’ve taken to calling it my “Mrs. Weasley sweater” (after those crazy knits they dress her in in the films); the cats have taken to calling it “where we sleep”!

Trackbacks

  1. Jacket « Sulala

Leave a Reply

