Skip to content

Where do I go from here?

September 16, 2007

First and foremost, I feel obligated to clarify something: I’m not really as fast as my Road to Golden makes me sound. There are a couple of factors to keep in mind…

1) my narrowish upper half. I eliminated the underarm gussets entirely (sooo glad knit pants haven’t really made a big splash or I’d be in big trouble)

2) an addicting fair isle pattern

3) really really loose knitting: I don’t even tension my yarn

4) worsted weight yarn

5) the Knitpicks chart keeper I finally broke down and bought (just to get the free shipping, of course). Love it for travel knitting! And have you seen their new needles? I rarely or never knit with wooden needles, but I bet these are good. In any case, I’m always a sucker for ingenuity. And good customer service–when the tip pulled off one of my size 3 fixed circs doing the RTG sleeve, they sent me another one free of charge, no questions asked. In other words, I’m a huge fan. Glad I’m not the only one. MTOW, could you actually convert me to wooden needles??? Maybe if I get the sock set for Christmas (why yes, DH does read this blog. Why do you ask?)

6) the Road to West Virginia!

But before Road to Golden there was Kathy Zimmerman’s Notting Hill Vest. I’ll be perfectly honest, DH and I should probably figure out alternative photo shoot strategies. When we finally get around to them, we usually don’t get down to business but have a little too much fun. That’s what I’m telling myself to justify the fact that I can’t take a decent picture of my beautiful DH or his beautiful sweater vest (that I am going to block an inch longer). Scenery provided by just one of my mom’s gorgeous gardens.

notting hill vest

notting hill vest

notting hill vest

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe this is what’s called “working it”

 

 

 

I’ve started another pattern, that has found me in various stages of fits and giggles. Here is when I decided not to work on the sleeve anymore.

DSC05389.JPG

I think I’ve finally solved a few problems, so hopefully a post will be forthcoming! School starts this week, so maybe look for it around…next June.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2007 3:54 pm

    Love the “workin’ it” photo! At first I thought it was “powerwalking.” The vest looks great.

    School starts Sept 24 for me, and I’m not ready for it yet!

  2. September 17, 2007 12:10 pm

    The “working it” photo is classic. 🙂

    The vest is really cute too. You are just rolling in FO’s lately!

  3. September 17, 2007 3:06 pm

    I love the vest – lots of cabley-goodness and what a fun yarn! And, come on! If you can’t have a little fun with the photoshoot…

    Ah, your kitty has decided the sleeve needs some wear (ok, nap) testing. I know the feeling!

  4. September 18, 2007 10:38 am

    That photo is too cute for words, and the vest is great too! What yarn is it?

Trackbacks

  1. I made a vest, and I really like it. Who knew? « Sulala

Leave a Reply

