Skip to content

DH, avert your eyes!!

December 8, 2007

 

 

Christmas socks for Grandpa and DH

I’ve reached a new and fun era in my knitting–people actually WANT me to make them things! My mother still remembers the Christmas break in college when she says I wandered around the house one evening before finally imploring, “Anybody want a hat?” It’s true for me, as I imagine it is for many others, that when I started knitting I made mostly presents. Since I gave everything away, it wasn’t until I started knitting for myself that I really began to understand what was really desirable in a handknit item, and the idea of custom fit. Now I’ve got lots of requests for socks and scarves and Calorimetries and slippers, and I love it!

Christmas socks for Grandpa and DH

These were only supposed to be one pair of socks for my grandpa. The astute among you will notice that there are two pairs here, due to DH’s passing observation that maroon and gray were his high school colors. Thus, they will instead serve to hold some of his Christmas treats this year, and Grandpa gets gray and green. (Isn’t it funny how even rather boring socks look better in multiples??)

Christmas socks for Grandpa and DH

Christmas socks for Grandpa and DH

Merry Christmas to friends and family who love you enough to ask for handknit gifts!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 9:05 am

    Those are some gorgeous socks! Your grandpa is a lucky man!

  2. December 9, 2007 9:52 am

    Yes it is rewarding to knit for those who value the gifts they receive. Those are great socks!

  3. December 10, 2007 3:16 pm

    Cute socks! I love the matching heels, toes and cuffs.

    And you’re right, it’s so nice to get requests. I got a couple this year and was so flattered, not to mention relieved not to have to come up with something suitable on my own.

  4. December 11, 2007 5:39 pm

    Those are the cutest pairs of manly socks! Is that an oxymoron?! Cute manly socks?

  5. December 14, 2007 1:18 pm

    They don’t look boring at all. I love the two color socks. Your grandpa and husband are very lucky. 🙂

  6. December 16, 2007 8:35 am

    Those socks are fantastic! I love the colors with the grey!!! They looks os comfy & really manly! I’m sure they will be very much appreciated!

  7. December 16, 2007 12:46 pm

    Great socks. Great idea to have grey with those colors. My other-half may be getting a pair pretty soon !

Trackbacks

  1. bliggi.com

Leave a Reply

