Skip to content

Now this is freaky

January 21, 2008

Maybe not so much for you, but for me (and I’m guessing DH), this is pretty durn freaky.

the baby poncho I made FOR A FRIEND
Now, chill’uns, let’s hear the story before we judge.
            In late November, a good friend and colleague of mine casually mentioned a need for a poncho that would fit over her bouncing babe in her baby carrier, the kind that can go on the front or the back. She’d found a few (pricey!) options in online stores, but me being me, I knew we could improve the general concept. I have an aversion to ponchos–drafty, and of limited access to arms, a fact that seems especially inconvenient for mothers)–and an aversion to shapeless and ugly garments, however functional.
           I’d seen a poncho-ish sweater on the bias before (it’s here if you are interested), and since I’m fond of bias knitting and in this case I felt it would be both stretchy and yet slimming, I decided that’s what I needed to do (NOTE: I’ve been on the Ravelry forums enough to know that taking inspiration from a pattern and not buying it will tick some people off. For me, it’s the same as adding a lace panel to a basic sock pattern and calling it new. The idea is so brilliantly simple, that I have no qualms admitting I took inspiration & nothing else. I totally give props to the designer for her originality! Oh, and for the no purling thing. Still don’t quite get how she accomplished that, although I did change a lot about the pattern.).
            So the above shot is the sweater in full-baby mode, frontways (I still can’t quite wrap my head around wearing your baby like a backpack, but my friend assures me it’s quite comfortable), and here is how it will look sans progeny. I’ve got a couple of closure options, but the recipient will decide exactly what she wants, so that’s why I’m holding it shut in this picture. I voted for a “baby on board” sign. I lost.
            It was lots of fun to collaborate on a project: I sent her links to various online & local vendors for yarn choices, and she made the decisions and came up with the colors (K’picks WotA in bare and Wine, plus Twirl in rust). I have to say that it looks not so good on me, but my friend actually does have pigment in her skin and very dark hair, and the colors look good on her. Plus it fits her muuuuch better. That being said, as much as I enjoyed it, at times it was very stressful, knowing that she’d invested a bunch of money in my skillz. She’s had it on, however, and she loves it, her formerly dubious husband was much impressed, and… she wants to learn to knit! Happy ending!

baby carrier poncho for A
in spite of the good foot & a half of ease on me, it’s stylin’, eh?

DSC05946.JPG
And finally, I hope you all had a wonderful looooong weekend! We did.

DSC05908.JPG
ETA: PS– Hmm, I may be headed to the realm of rant a bit in this post. Forgive me if my words are ill chosen, and as always thought though seldom expressed please feel free to kindly express a different opinion. I actually tend to enjoy divergent opinions, thoughtfully spoken and with the intent of enriching someone else’s world. I am very sensitive to the issue that as a “hobbyist” things look a bit different than from the professional angle.
PPS Hobby. Hobbyhobbyhobbyhobbyhobbyhobbyhobbyhobbyhobby. Weird word. (Talk about enriching, eh?)


10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 7:50 am

    Brilliant!

  2. January 22, 2008 12:39 pm

    Really cool concept and it seems to work well for the intended purpose. You had me wondering for a moment at the beginning…

  3. January 22, 2008 3:53 pm

    I’ll listen to your hobbyist vs professional rant if you listen to my art vs craft rant. 🙂

  4. January 23, 2008 9:51 am

    Whoa. I have an aversion to ponchos, too, but that’s pretty brilliant.

    (P.S. Rant away. The blogs are pretty slow this time of year and could use some spicing up.)

  5. January 23, 2008 11:57 am

    Cool!

  6. January 24, 2008 10:52 am

    I have given you a little award 🙂 See my blog.

  7. January 24, 2008 12:28 pm

    I think it looks awesome! Props to you for working it out.

  8. January 24, 2008 6:52 pm

    oh thank you sula! that is so sweet of you. you picked some wonderful blogs too.

Trackbacks

  1. bliggi.com
  2. It’s been an odd day « Sulala

Leave a Reply

