Skip to content

Luxury

February 29, 2008

As I get older (and as of last week I’m now nearer to thirty than to twenty, as the years on my face begin to catch up with those in my crotchety heart), I come to define luxury in different ways. For example, luxury is now being home long enough to see an entire load of laundry through from start to finish. Luxury is not having to iron that laundry. Luxury is a pretty yellow teapot for a hot cuppa in the evening. Luxury is the necessity of cleaning out my office every week to accommodate the many books I bring home from the library. Luxury is homemade NY style cheesecake. Luxury is the joy of a few hours of face-to-face chat with my brother (and Dad on speaker phone). Luxury is driving home on a snowy evening listening to the Hilliard ensemble sing Josquin’s “Ave Maria, virgo serena(I’m quite sorry to link to Amazon for the 30 sec. sample, but I can’t find a good version for free online and it is too good a piece to link to a less than stellar performance. I’ll just buy you all this CD and have it shipped to you instead, mmmkay?). Luxury is being missed, and then being greeted accordingly upon a return.

Lady E

Luxury is having a great scarf.

Lady E

Lady E

Lady Eleanor, modified (less two repeats and less a few layers of fringing) from 4 skeins of Debbie Mum’s Traditions, which presented no problems whatsoever after the initial 4-knotted skein.

Lady E

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2008 11:58 am

    Oh, you are so right — the everyday things really can be the most luxurious. I think being missed and then being joyfully greeted has to be one of my favorites.

    And that scarf! I’ve been planning one very much like it for a long time now and it’s great to see that it looks just as good as I’d hoped, if not better. The reduced fringe is perfect. I’m waffling between Debbie Mumm and Patons SWS. Is the Traditions nice and soft around your neck?

  2. February 29, 2008 3:56 pm

    So pretty!

  3. March 1, 2008 5:32 am

    Scarflove! It looks like woven metal to me. Soft, squishy, woven metal. 🙂

  4. March 1, 2008 12:14 pm

    Oh wow, that is so beautiful. I keep wavering on Lady E, not sure if I will look like a jester, but I see now that the best approach is muted tones – I love those greys! Really, really lovely job.

  5. March 2, 2008 5:55 am

    breathtakingly beautiful! i love the muted colors.

  6. girlwhoknits permalink
    March 2, 2008 3:00 pm

    Simply stunning. The colors on yours make this my favorite Lady E I have seen. Love it.

  7. orata permalink
    March 3, 2008 9:02 am

    That is very pretty! I love the close-up with snowflakes.

  8. March 3, 2008 11:00 am

    Your Lady E is gorgeous, the colours are so pretty! I’ve always been of the opinion that true luxury is not something that can be acquired simply by a wad of cash, so I think your point of everyday luxuries is spot-on!

  9. March 3, 2008 11:22 am

    Just beautiful. I have got to make one like that soon!

  10. March 7, 2008 9:05 pm

    I can only imagine the comments you get when you wear that scarf—people must literally drool on it. gorgeous!

  11. March 9, 2008 3:22 pm

    Lovin it!! It looks so cosy and ready to fight off the winter chill. The photos are fantastic too.

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

