Skip to content

I saw, I sought, I sewed.

March 16, 2008
Friday I had a moment of weakness at Joann’s and ALMOST bought fabric to make Amy Butler’s Frenchy Bag (the pattern for which I’ve had since the moment I laid eyes on these–careful folks, she’s dangerous!). Then in an unexpected moment of maturity I walked away without that fabric, but not without feeling just a bit sorry for myself. Once home, however, I got to digging in the fabric stash, such as it is, and realized that if I raided some unused cotton duck and the leftovers from the SAMDSE*, with a little creativity I could have my Frenchy bag for the mere cost of the magnetic snap!
DSC06513.JPG
I can’t believe how much fun I had cutting and sewing this bag. My stitching is not straight, especially on the multiple passes, but I am so inordinately proud of myself for making this work that I don’t care. (I also made curtains that aren’t much to look at but do sufficiently darken the bedroom, a project I’d been stalled on for a few months. Can I just say that clip-on curtain rings have revolutionized my world?)

DSC06509.JPG
what a great “work” station for a Sunday afternoon

DSC06512.JPG
pattern: Amy Butler Frenchy shoulder bag
exterior fabric: Amy Butler’s Lotus “Faded China” collection
lining: cotton duck

DSC06518.JPG
inside- two pockets, improvised trim with scraps on cotton duck.

DSC06519.JPG

*Second Annual Mother/Daughter Sewing Extravaganza: My mom is great at sewing, very creative and efficient, so a few years ago we had the First Annual Mother/Daughter Sewing Extravaganza (why, no, I don’t have a flair for the dramatic, why do you ask?) and made Amy Butler’s Weekender Bag. We both had so much fun that last year–SAMDSE–we made Amy Butler robes & matching pajama pants. Mine were from this fabric.

Now it’s my turn to pick out a pattern again this year, and I don’t know what to suggest. Please leave me a pattern idea, if you have one. I was thinking a Denyse Schmidt quilt, maybe this one (Drunk love–if you like quilts and assymetry, I suggest you check it out)? Looks like straight sewing isn’t hip anymore anyway. I knew it!

PS Your regularly scheduled knitting content will resume shortly. Can you believe I’m four FO’s and many, many cute cat pics behind??
13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2008 2:47 pm

    Your bag looks all professional and such! I agree, I love the clip-on curtain rings, too. And magnetic snaps, for that matter. Technology, it makes the mind boggle!

  2. March 16, 2008 4:52 pm

    Great bag — I love the fabric!

  3. Bria permalink
    March 16, 2008 7:02 pm

    So, could I convince you to create a whole new look for me? Sweater, socks, skirt, cute bag, the works! 🙂 I look at what you accomplish while you’re in school and think that perhaps TV-watching isn’t as much of a skill as I thought it was.

  4. March 16, 2008 7:34 pm

    Wow wee zowie. Lovin’ the color combo of your Frenchy. I have that stripe fabric too!

    Any wait a minute…were you at my house sewing because that station looks a lot like mine….just cleaner :O) oh wait, I just all crafting work stations are on the dining room table.

    Thanks for the shout out too!

  5. March 17, 2008 4:57 am

    Lovely bag! Now I have to break out my sewing machine…

    did you buy your pattern locally? I want it today!

  6. March 17, 2008 9:53 am

    Very cute!

    And sewing isn’t hip anymore? That’s probably because I just bought my first sewing book and ordered some fabric.

  7. March 17, 2008 10:19 am

    I love that bag! And I am totally not making this up: I have a baby sized version of drunk love planned for sometime this summer, as one of my best friends is due in the fall.

  8. March 17, 2008 2:15 pm

    Great bag – and socks, and shocking skirt (even though it is acrylic), and Lady Eleanor… I’m sure I’ve forgotten something!

  9. March 18, 2008 7:47 am

    Ooh, that bag is awesome!! Love the fabric combo, that worked out brilliantly! Great job.

  10. March 19, 2008 5:19 pm

    Your bag is gorgeous. I had to head out and look at Amy Butler patterns right away.

  11. Dyan permalink
    March 19, 2008 7:57 pm

    Hey Gert, Your bag is really great! After seeing it now can’t wait to see what you come up with for the TAMDSE. Would love to make the quilt. Maybe will use my leftovers from the SAMDSE to have me one of those too! This is great fun – a whole new world!

  12. March 27, 2008 4:01 pm

    The fabric for the bag is beautiful!

  13. thepinkededge permalink
    May 17, 2009 12:20 am

    Love the fabric combo on the bag…. for a pattern idea, how about the Multi-Tasker Tote or Socialite dress from Anna Marai Horner?

Leave a Reply

