Skip to content

House shoes–a story of hope lost, self-discovery, and ultimate fulfillment

April 12, 2008

It has probably been apparent to everyone but me for quite some time that my knitterly discussions tend toward the narrative. I was lax about blogging technique, needles, and yarn information even before Ravelry, but such a superb organizational system has freed me from any guilt I might have felt in that regard. (That tagline “everything is tangential” is not just flippancy, you know.)

Today, however, my tale is brief: Grandma wanted slippers–but since we’re talking about my grandma I suppose it is only appropriate that we call them “house shoes” as she does–and I made some for her.

Well, I suppose there is more to it than that. I made a pair for her last winter, and they were so ooogly that I never wanted to make another pair of house shoes in my life.

DSC06581.JPG

I know, it’s frightening. Grandma must have been fine with them, though, because she wanted another pair this year. I crocheted a pair, laughably oogly (see below), and gave up. Sorry, Grandma, you’ll have to go to Bell’s.

DSC06583.JPG

The two different colors are because I was experimenting with cheap yarn. But it does add to the overall oogly factor quite nicely, don’t you think?

DSC06437.JPG

Then I found these, and since then my life has been all blue skies and rainbows. (Oh, come on, like I could ever disappoint my grandma!)

DSC06439.JPG

Seriously, though, I love them. A creative and clever pattern, and a great use for stray skeins. I have a feeling that everyone I know is getting a pair for some occasion or another this year. Graduating from college? House shoes! Moving? House shoes! Getting married? House shoes! Being related to me? House shoes!

DSC06444.JPG

They even look a little bit like real shoes (outside shoes? out-of-house shoes? ), thus bringing the “house shoe” concept to even fuller fulfillment than I could have ever hoped or dreamed.

DSC06435.JPG

(I wonder if Grandma’s noticed that they look like jet skis when flat? Probably.)

DSC06547.JPG

Oh, and I made a pair for me too.

DSC06545.JPG

My Rav details here and here. But, um, don’t expect needle sizes or anything
DSC06543.JPG

DSC06539.JPG

So I guess I did manage to make a story out of house shoes.
DSC06571.JPG

And obviously I am highly entertaining in real life as well.

ETA: DH, upon reading this post: “You know, if people didn’t know you and they read your blog they might think you were sweet and nice.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2008 6:06 pm

    Um, what exactly does one need to do to get on that list again?

  2. April 13, 2008 12:33 pm

    That pattern has been in my Ravelry queue for a little while – but you have encouraged me to get on a pair real quick like!

  3. April 13, 2008 1:17 pm

    Good find! The ones you made for your grandma are quite pretty as house shoes go, and I love the way you’ve got the variegated striping going on yours.

  4. April 14, 2008 10:04 am

    You shouldn’t have said that thing about the jet skis, because now that’s all I see when I look at them. Miniature soft jet skis! For feet! 🙂

  5. April 14, 2008 2:18 pm

    I’ve totally been wanting to knit these. They look fantastic! I love the flower you added. Is it knit or crochet?

  6. April 14, 2008 6:12 pm

    I am thinking the definition of a good blogger is someone who gets me to read a post about house slippers. 🙂 They look super comfy and cute.

  7. April 21, 2008 7:34 pm

    oooh, I’ve been wanting to knit these. They look so cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Today is the first day of the rest of your week « Sulala

Leave a Reply

