Skip to content

Shocking! (a long story, long overdue)

November 5, 2008

Once upon a time, in March of aught six, I started a skirt. I started Ms. Avery’s Shocking! skirt (my Rav link), with Mission Falls wool. It quickly became apparent, however, that I would never have enough yarn to finish it, and Mission Falls being rather dear, I started another version with leftover cheapo yarn.

DSC06336.JPG

(cheapo version. Also disturbingly Americana.)

And, as projects that are made from inappropriate, hand-hurting yarn often do, it sat for a while. I picked it up once but it still went no where. So it sat. Finally the light came on and I got some Cascade 220. At that point, my hands said yessssssssss.

DSC06524_2.JPG

The tease shot…

shocking skirt

The colors! A little wild, eh?

shocking skirt

shocking skirt

shocking skirt

The finished skirt in action!

An admittedly awkward pose, but the skirt is very comfortable and wearable. This initial wearing was at my piano studio recital in the spring (everyone played great, by the way!).  With happy-hand yarn, the skirt was finished quickly and easily, albeit with some of my typical changes that result from intuiting the pattern instead of actually reading it. Although there was a little pattern weirdness on the color changes, and I just did a three-needle bind off instead of grafting at the end. And I changed the hem. And the waistband.

And anyway, I love it. What do you think?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 6:44 pm

    Looks nice! I like the color combination!

  2. November 6, 2008 6:49 am

    I think it looks great! I’ve loved that skirt/jacket set since they were published.

  3. November 6, 2008 7:04 am

    It looks great! I really like the colors.

  4. November 6, 2008 8:26 am

    I love it! It’s very flattering.

    You know, Mission Falls may not have worked out all that well in the end since it’s so darn stretchy. Cascade 220 seems far more likely to maintain its body.

  5. November 6, 2008 10:01 am

    I totally love it. The color combo is great and the skirt fits perfectly. Nice!

  6. November 6, 2008 4:15 pm

    It’s beautiful! Great job 🙂

  7. November 7, 2008 7:12 am

    Cute – and a great colour combination!

  8. November 14, 2008 1:15 pm

    Umm…FAB!

Leave a Reply

