Skip to content

the baby's mine, the knitting's not

March 3, 2010

I have some big people sewing to show you, but it may never happen. I’ve noticed that the camera does not love me & my rear the way it loves babies. Funny, that.

Grace was baptized last week on our trip back to Ohio (and the land of dial up–sheesh!). I thought you might enjoy the story behind her outfit which was decidedly not the traditional christening gown.

One of my best friends growing up (and still today) lived in Australia for a year as a child. She and her family have maintained close friendships with the people they met for nearly thirty years now, and several of these women are accomplished knitters and seamstresses. One of them made this outfit to be worn by the first granddaughter, but eight years and four grandsons later, my friend’s mom decided that Grace should be the honorary first granddaughter and wear this unbelievable knitted gown and cardigan. And so she did.

I should have taken better detail shots for you guys, but even though I didn’t I hope the picture below can justify my next statement: I’ve never seen knitting like this before. The wool is as soft and fine as can be while still retaining that delightful crispy woolly feeling. The knitting itself is perfect from what I could tell, and the details are just amazing, an ideal blend of pattern and scale and execution. The front bands were sources of wonderment to me. Even though technically I could have made this outfit, I don’t know if I have the vision to blend all of the elements the way she did. I was very grateful to be able to wrap my daughter in these very special hand knit garments.

Aussie knit

My contribution was bloomers (because I’m not a fan of flashing in church, no matter the age.) This initial clydesdale-esque version was quickly scrapped in favor of the subdued version above. She’ll thank me for that someday, I think.

rejected bloomers

And of course shoes. You all know I love making baby shoes (and if you don’t, you will soon!). Again an initial version was cute but not quite right. I ended up putting a girly pink ribbon on these and giving them my other best friend’s baby girl.

shoes

These were an early sample of my drafted Valentine’s day shoe pattern but ended up fitting the bill. Or the foot, since my daughter is not a duck.

final shoes

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 10:42 am

    Oh, how stunning! What a special outfit for such a special occasion. Every piece is just lovely!

  2. March 4, 2010 11:52 am

    Oh my goodness that is AMAZING! Whoever created that garment is just so talented. How wonderful that Grace’s mom is perfectly suited to fully appreciate it too. Congrats on the baptism!

Leave a Reply

