Skip to content

Because I'm certainly not going to shut up

April 16, 2010

All this talk about the Jalie jeans and I still haven’t shown you mine! And I finished a new shirt!

I’m short on words today, but the short of it is that I love these jeans. These were supposed to be a test pair (thus my nickname on the rear. I mean seriously, who DOES that??), but they fit right out of the envelope. I’ve since made a pair of cords with this pattern and have two more denim pairs cut out and waiting to be sewn.

My thoughts:

-finish every seam. Serge (I wish), zigzag, pinking, whatever. You’ll wear these enough to merit it.

-take your time on the pocket topstitching. I’ll show you my method for symmetrical topstitching when I get around to making my next pair.

-look through the pattern first and plan to minimize rethreading your machine for the topstitching, especially at the beginning.

-if you were worried about how they’d wear, these have been in heavy rotation since January and quickly acquired that worn look (let’s call it patina, shall we?) that non-sewists pay the big bucks to find.

Ok, the shirt is view B from New Look 6407. This pattern was one of my first sewing projects back in the summer of 2008, and in my new sewer bliss I made 3.5 muslins to get the fit right. (I must not have blogged about it! I’ll have to go find it and take a picture.) Anyway, I was so pleased with myself that I immediately cut out another one. And proceeded to not make it for almost two years. Go me! But in the interest of clearing out the backlog, I pulled it out a few weeks ago and was delighted to find not only had I not cut out all the pieces, but I’d unintentionally added a seam to the center back. Go me, again! And the fit wasn’t as spot-on as I’d thought (either that or having a baby changes your figure or something. They used to be up there!). But it’s done and I’m happy. The white sleeves were the pieces I had to scrounge for and I like the effect. Wish I’d messed up cutting the collar too!

DSC04899.JPG

I’d like to make a khaki skirt as well as a pair of dark brown linen loose capris to wear with this shirt this spring & summer.

DSC04903.JPG

yikes! Center back seam because I didn’t cut on the fold.

DSC04904.JPG

*The title of the post is because I’m still laughing about this post on Ann’s Gorgeous Fabrics’ blog. No, I’ve never seen that movie, but I look kind of like a zombie in that last picture, so I’m breaking my no face rule. You didn’t recognize me anyway, did you?

PS Not so short on words after all, hmm?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 2:11 pm

    Woah. Cannot even believe the skills in these pictures! You made jeans. That blows my mind. And they look AMAZING! And so does your top. I love that plaid fabric. It is such a cute combo. No one would even suspect it was all home made.

  2. girlwhoknits permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:22 am

    I am with Kara (and totally late to the party.) You made jeans AND they look great. I am in awe.

Leave a Reply

