Skip to content

Oliver & S Birthday Party Dress

July 19, 2010

My MIL came armed with fabric and patterns on her most recent visit. Am I spoiled or what? There was really no choice about what to sew, since Gracie selected her fabric from the pile as we sorted through it. We’d show her one piece and she would disdainfully toss it aside in favor of this retro Alexander Henry print.

From sewing
From sewing
From sewing

The pattern was really nice to sew. If I made it again, I would finish all of my seams (don’t I always say that??). I am especially pleased with the facings and the line of buttons down the back. Nothing delights me more about a cute pattern than ease of wearing. We change clothes a lot around here.

From sewing

And perhaps the other most delightful part about this dress was finding the perfect buttons at Windsor Button in Boston. They even came in the two sizes we needed! Whaddya think?

From sewing
From sewing
5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 3:49 pm

    Those buttons are perfect! And this dress so so super cute. Love it!

  2. July 19, 2010 4:45 pm

    Perfection! I like her taste in fabric, and those buttons are just right.

    I would say that I need to make that pattern again, but E has only worn hers once, so perhaps that wouldn’t be so worthwhile.

  3. July 19, 2010 5:24 pm

    So cute! Those buttons are so perfect, too.
    I like your new (blog) digs!

  4. July 20, 2010 8:20 pm

    I love the Birthday Party dress pattern! The first one I made was out of $1/yard Strawberry Shortcake fabric (as testing size, etc…and because my 3 year old at the time wouldn’t have anything else!) and I found perfect strawberry buttons to match. it’s the little things! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I do believe I’ve mistaken you for a cupcake, DD « Welcome to The Seamery

Leave a Reply

