Skip to content

Baby shoes for summer

July 21, 2010

I’ve had a tough time keeping Gracie in shoes this summer. Her favorite thing to do is to hold tight to our fingers and walk walk walk (or run run run and laugh laugh laugh. Also ridiculously endearing: I have to remember not to say “Good job!” or “Yay!” while we’re walking, because then she has to stop walking and drop my fingers to clap). But all of the cute baby shoes and sandals in her size have stiff bottoms, which make it difficult for her to step properly.

So, I finally made some.¬† I toyed with a few patterns that wrap around (like the Amy Butler booties or these kimono shoes) and even tried my own, but I don’t particularly like the fit. I ended up altering my favorite baby shoe pattern to fit her 9-mo.-old feet. I added just a hair to the sole and top pattern pieces, while narrowing the heel of the sole. I used a faux leather for the bottoms, skipped the elastic and instead folded down the backs for a bit of contrast and extra grip. Thus far they have stayed on even through her curious pulling. I think we have a winner! They’ve been test driven at the library and on our morning run (she’s the runner, mind you, not me), and so far we are both pleased. To the extent that I am having a very difficult time resisting the urge to cut every single scrap of fabric I have into baby shoes. Who knew this is what they meant when they said motherhood is tough?

From sewing
From sewing
From sewing

I couldn’t crop out the taste of baby fingers!

From sewing
3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 3:40 pm

    These are pretty great. I love all the cute possibilities!

  2. July 21, 2010 6:09 pm

    They’re so cute! I’m trying to resist the urge to try to make some too, and I don’t even know that many babies.

Trackbacks

  1. I do believe I’ve mistaken you for a cupcake, DD « Welcome to The Seamery

Leave a Reply

