Skip to content

I do believe I’ve mistaken you for a cupcake, DD

July 27, 2010

It’s over the top. It’s pink. With polka dots. And puffy sleeves. And it’s too matchy-matchy.

But put a chubby bunny inside and voila! Just like that, I love pink matchy-matchy polka dots and puffy sleeves.

From sew for baby
From sew for baby
From sew for baby

The details:

The top and pants are Simplicity 2985, views F and G. Believe it or not, the matching fabric is from two different stores! The shoes are, of course, my favorite pattern as described here.

As is often the case for me, the sizing was crazy. I made the large top and pants, according to the weights given, and while the top gives her a little room to grow, the pants were just huge. I ended up making an extra small and using smaller seam allowances. My only other modification was to use a snap in the back instead of a button loop and button.

I don’t know that I will make the pants again. If I do make the top again, which I might, I will draft a facing instead of using the bias tape finishing. I’m not crazy about the construction or the look, and I can’t imagine it will wash well. After making the Oliver & S Birthday Party dress, I am a convert to the simplicity and efficacy of the facing.

Bonus point for me: you know how I always say that next time I’ll remember to finish the seam allowances? This time, I did!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

