Skip to content

“You got some ‘splaining’ to do Lucy”

August 7, 2010

A fun day is when I get the call that there are some fabric samples and remnants available for pick-up.  I feel the need to ‘splain the great fabrics I use for the stitched goods on my Etsy site.These beautiful pieces of fabric are the mainstay of my sewing therapy.  One great day I was the recipient of over 1000 pieces!  To much fun.  The rems are all kinds from upholstery type to home decor fabrics.  I refer to these as the “rescued remnants” collection. All beautiful colors and textures- a fabric queen’s dream. “Rescued” because these are fabulous pieces most likely bound for a landfill near you. They are all new materials, not reused or even recycled. Most of us could never afford this stuff by the yard so the rems can get exciting to have.  Many of the stitched goods on my Etsy site are made from the “rescued remnants” collection. They are reasonably priced for the quality of fabrics they are made from – know the price would have to be much higher if I had to pay more for these goodies. One of my life joys is to use the fabrics to make all kinds of things for family and friends. If you have been in a fabric shop or to a quilt show in the last few months you’ve seen the “Bucket Tote” pattern from Sweetwater Street. I’ve indulged in buying the pattern – I usually make my own – and have made a dozen of these sweet little totes. The first one was for granddaughter Gracie to carry her toys in to a wedding – it was the perfect size. The 12 pictured here are for my mother and 5 sisters and sisters-in-law – will visit them next week in WI.

From sewornosew

The fabrics were fun enough to coordinate – then used leather scraps, clothesline pieces, buttons and other embellishments in the “junk” collection and they tuned out pretty cute. Had someone in mind as each one was sewn – Anxious to see who picks which one. They don’t take long to make and are a great little tote for any gift to anyone!
Have been baking and getting ready for our road trip next week today – now I feel the need to get in a little sewing time – it’s what keep me sane!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sulafaye permalink*
    August 15, 2010 1:01 am

    You know, I use the one you made for Grace every single day. I think these would be fabulous wedding or baby shower gifts with something sweet & homemade tucked inside! Can’t wait to see how they go over with the sisters. I would pick the green stripey one. Did you guess that?

    • dyandesyns permalink*
      August 18, 2010 11:49 am

      Well, now I figured out how to do THIS! Just looked at the gmail this morn . Linda and Nancy picked out the ones that I thought they would – do I know my friends? And one set aside for Sharon that will match her new kitchen too. On to bigger and better things!

  2. September 17, 2010 7:58 pm

    I *love* these, and I want them all! I may have to check out the pattern if it’s not too hard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

