Skip to content

A little something wrappy for me me me

August 8, 2010

I have been working to break the habit of sewing for someone else when I sew for me.

Let me rephrase: I sew clothes for my body but someone else’s life. I don’t know about you, but when I look at patterns and fabric I tend to be drawn to clothes that don’t really suit the way I actually live. Perhaps that’s because the “clothes that suit my lifestyle” category can be broken down into jeans or linen pants paired with $6 T-shirts from Target. Or maybe it is because I have a secret love for gold lamé. I don’t know.

And I’m getting up there, folks. I need to do something to stop the grocery store check-out boys, bus drivers, and librarians from calling me “miss” while I’m carrying my 10-month-old. I’m a mother, for pete’s sake, give me a “ma’am,” would you??

Ahem, yes, sewing…when I saw this material I knew it was destined to become that wardrobe staple of sophistication and ease: a wrap dress.

Someday I will make the Hot Patterns Wong Singh Jones Kimono Dress (inspired, of course, by Cidell), but for now a pattern in the hand was worth two in the internet queue. Thus I turned to trusty Butterick 5101. I’ve made the top twice, the pants and skirt each once, and now the dress. I’d say I got my $1 out of this one! We’ll just pretend that the first time I made the top and pants in a brown ponte knit I didn’t look like a Jedi in training. As far as I know, there is no photographic evidence…

What I like about this dress: the high, non-gapping neckline. The unobtrusive and simple sleeves. The ridiculously simple construction. What I don’t like: the way the some of my seams turned out (bunchy). The tendency to unwrap with wind and walking. My conclusion: wear a slip and don’t look too close–it’s a win!

see? sophistication and ease, brought to you by Sula

6 Comments leave one →
  1. girlwhoknits permalink
    August 9, 2010 8:21 pm

    This is just beautiful! You did an amazing job and the fit is great on you. Oh, and for the record, people have been calling me “ma’am” for a while now and I hate how old it makes me sound. Enjoy the “miss” while you can. 🙂

  2. August 11, 2010 7:01 pm

    i know just what you mean about sewing for someone else’s lifestyle – although i think in my case it is with knitting. however, i’d take a “miss” any day, as I remember getting ma’ams even in my very early twenties – why, people, why?

    getting back on topic – this dress is awesome, suits you very well!

  3. August 13, 2010 2:48 am

    I like what you did with the back pattern piece! Maybe you could add a hidden button at the closure if it keeps untying. Just a thought.

  4. Blondie permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:41 am

    Be careful what you wish for. The first time someone called me ma’am (a young male employee in a shoe store), I wanted to smack him with my purse. Is that bad? 🙂

    Love the dress. You wear it beautifully!

    Blondie, 41-going-on-29

  5. March 9, 2011 1:05 pm

    I was cruising the pattern review site looking for a knit dress, and I love yours! Thanks for sharing!

  6. May 7, 2011 11:53 am

    Thanks for the review on PR. I’m really loving the way this pattern looks.

Leave a Reply

