Skip to content

Sewing curtains and napkins–and you thought your week was exciting!

August 12, 2010

I am completely project-oriented when it comes to home dec sewing. I’m not great at it, and sometimes it’s a little boring. But, when I sew boring things like shower curtains and window curtains and napkins, I get to make things that let me look at fabric I like but wouldn’t necessarily wear.

Shower curtains: using up the stash!  And using my Singer Professional Buttonholer!

I’ve been holding on to this Amy Butler print for years, because it is fabulous and because I got 2 3/8 yds. for $7. That’s a lot of pressure! This shower curtain, however, means I get to look at it every day and if I ever do find the perfect coat pattern (or what have you), I still have a large uncut piece with which to work.

Added bonus: making my own shower curtains means I got to hem it at tub height instead of dragging on the floor. Little things that make me happy.

Cloth napkins are another little thing that makes a difference in my day.  Almost every time I use one I think, “I get to wipe my mouth with this?” Then I giggle (on the inside. I’m not known for giggling on the outside).

And my final triumph as a sewing housewife these days: a crib skirt and curtains for Gracie’s room. Fabric.com sucked me in with an email announcing this “Pretty Bird” fabric from Michael Miller and it couldn’t have been more of what I had in mind for my baby girl’s room if I’d designed it myself. I snatched up a few yards of coordinates while they were on sale and am so happy I did.

(the pink is a pull panel for naptimes. I lined them so it is very dark.)

Feels a little weird to be flashing my commode up there. But did you notice that I made two shower curtains, because for the first time in my 6-yr. marriage I live in a place with two bathrooms?

Thanks as always for reading! What’s the most boring thing you’ve ever made that you just love?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. girlwhoknits permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:27 pm

    WOW! You are so productive! I love all the new home sewing project additions. Great fabric choices.

  2. August 14, 2010 5:07 pm

    What lovely shower curtains! (and I’m jealous that you have two bathrooms — in 14 years of marriage, we have yet to have more than one) The napkins and baby paraphernalia are wonderful, too 🙂

    P.S. Love your wrap dress!!!

  3. Bria permalink
    August 17, 2010 1:40 pm

    I would love to fly you out here to help me make decisions on how to decorate our place and pick fabric for stuff and, oh, teach me how to sew. Such great stuff, Sula.

Trackbacks

  1. Hue make me so happy! « Welcome to The Seamery

Leave a Reply

