Skip to content

Last year’s bandwagon, and me

August 30, 2010

I’ve decided to concentrate my sewing for myself on pieces that get a lot of wear: jackets, cardigans, jeans (you saw that coming a mile away, didn’t you?).  I made this cardigan–Simplicity 2603, please don’t make me call it a cardi-wrap–for my gorgeous SIL last Christmas (sorry, no picture), and since I already had the pattern cut out and ready to go, last week I cut into a bargain basement white knit and stitched ‘er up. Ahh, the thrill of only being a year or so behind the times!

I think the pose I was aiming for is “thinking” not “nibbling.”

With an actively crawling little girl who desperately wants to be walking, I’ve been getting about five to ten minutes at the machine, maybe three times a week. Thank heavens you taught me to chain stitch, Mom! My M.O. for this project was pin and prep during a nap time, then if I had a chance to stitch a bit while Gracie is occupied with blocks or books or chasing the cats I’d quickly sew, say, the side panels and the cuffs. It was a little strange, but by the end of the week–and probably less than an hour total at the machine–I had a finished project! (Strangely similar is the way I’m writing this blog post: in another tab I have the world’s slowest and least flexible library catalog open, working on the diss. *Sort my search results, hit “next page,” blog a bit,* repeat from * to *. I’m on #50 of 1553. And they only show 10 records a page, with limited limits. And they won’t let me keep a running list of books I want, so I have to download each citation individually. And…there are typos! Anyone else ready to throw something with me, preferably a stack of card catalog cards like the NYPL specter in Ghostbusters? Rant over, Sula out.)

This is probably how I’ll end up wearing it when I realize that those extensions are completely impractical. I finished all of my inside seams, most of them by cutting down one of the seam allowances and folding the other one over it, then stitching on my original stitch line again. I don’t know if that is an official seam finish, but it worked! On the boo hiss side of things, I left the long hems unhemmed on this one (for now). I did a narrow hem on the one I made for my SIL and they turned out surprisingly well, so I didn’t skip them because I am scared. Just ready to keep on moving on, and because I tell myself they are extra flowy like this.

Speaking of moving on, here’s what Grace wore yesterday. It’s Simplicity 3808, a great pattern (with facings!) to make and it wears well. I think this is my favorite pattern for babies I’ve made thus far. Julie bought this fabric for Grace when she was here in April, and we’ve gotten some good mileage out of it! I made it in June and never blogged about it. So I’ll post it here and the skimmers among you (bless your hearts) will think I’ve been super productive!


And finally, to complete my “what the heck, I’ve got no rhyme or reason for today’s post” post, I’m happy to show you the Shetland shorty I cast on for in 2008. knitty pattern link and ravelry pattern link (ps only knitters can get away with saying things with a jumble of prepositions like “on for in.”)

Started this when I knit a lot, thinking it would be quick (ha) and one of those pieces that is nice to have to complete a summer dress ensemble (that I don’t have). Last summer I finally picked up the stitches for the front bands, and this summer I picked up the stitches for the arm bands and wore it for the first time.

Do try not to be intimidated by my blazing speed or inspiring dedication.

Comment recap (a la Kitschy Coo, whose cleverness daily astounds but this idea makes me guffaw): cardigan–welcome to the times, it was cool the first 200 times; Gracie’s frock–oooo, baby clothes! how fun to be gifted fabric; shetland shorty–it took you how long? for that? Also welcome are library/ online catalog horror stories, and encouragement to get back to work!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 1:19 pm

    I like your cardigan! I also like the way it wraps!

    Grace is adorable in her outfit! I always have issues with fit when sewing for children, so I am glad you did not. You did a great job!

    • sulafaye permalink*
      September 2, 2010 5:06 am

      Thanks, Vanessa! I’m always fearful of baby fitting issues too, which is why I’m especially pleased with this pattern. I hope this cardigan sees a lot of wear this fall! Mmmm, fall…

  2. September 17, 2010 8:05 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad that she was able to wear her dress a lot. I still love that fabric. 🙂

Leave a Reply

