Skip to content

A meta moment

October 15, 2010

I come and go as I please on my blog, and I must thank those of you who continue to read for tolerating my apparently capricious posting. My grandmother passed away rather unexpectedly almost a month ago, and losing her made me want to retreat from the big world a bit. So I did, bargaining with myself that I would return again when I could type that sentence. I couldn’t move on with my usual tripe without attempting to come to grips with the loss, but I dreaded acknowledging it in general and here in particular, where words can seem simultaneously too ephemeral to pay adequate tribute and yet too wide spread for something so personal.

Apparently today I am getting ready to return, although what I haven’t figured out how to express is how much she meant to me. I’ll just thank you in advance for your kind thoughts and prayers for my family and promise to come back soon with a little bit of stitching.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 10:16 pm

    I am so sorry Sula. Grandparents are something special so it is understandable that you need some time when they pass.

  2. October 17, 2010 2:53 pm

    So sorry to hear about your grandmother.

  3. girlwhoknits permalink
    October 18, 2010 3:32 pm

    So sorry for your loss. Judging by how you turned out I believe she must have been a very special woman.

Leave a Reply

